Commission Members

The West Virginia Oil and Gas Conservation Commission is composed of five members, three of whom are appointed by the Governor.   Of the three appointed by the Governor, one shall be an independent producer and at least one shall be a member of the public not engaged in an activity under the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission or the federal energy regulatory commission.   The third appointee shall possess a degree from an accredited college or university in petroleum engineering or geology and must be a registered professional engineer with particular knowledge and experience in the oil and gas industry and shall serve as commissioner and as chair of the commission.   The Director of the WV Department of Environmental Protection and the Chief of the Office of Oil and Gas shall serve the Commission as ex-officio members.

Randall M. Albert, Chairman and Commissioner

Randall M. Albert, is the owner and CEO of Shale Advisory Group, a consulting firm focused on the emerging shale plays in the Appalachian Basin and around the world. Mr. Albert retired from CONSOL Energy in January 2014 after a 34-year career, serving the last several years as the Chief Operating Officer-Gas.  Mr. Albert began at CONSOL as a mining engineer in 1979 and served in various roles on the coal side of the business until he was tapped to lead the Coalbed Methane Business in CONSOL Energy's Southern Appalachia Region. In 1990 Mr. Albert led the formation of Pocahontas Gas Partnership, a joint venture with Conoco which ultimately drilled and stimulated over 4000 wells in southwestern Virginia and became one of the largest CBM plays in the world. In 2005, Mr. Albert took on operational leadership roles and successfully developed the CONSOL Energy Gas business in Northern Appalachia. In 2010, he was named the Chief Operating Officer-Gas and given operational responsibility for CONSOL Energy's entire gas business. During his tenure, Mr. Albert led the rapid development of CONSOL Energy Marcellus Shale program as well as the emerging Utica Shale program.  Mr. Albert is a past Chairman of the Marcellus Shale Coalition and a Member of the Board of Montage Resources Corporation, Wellsite Rentals and Fishing Tools, and a former Member of the Board of Directors of Vanguard Natural Resources.  He serves on the Strategic Advisory Board of Black Bay Energy Capital, a New Orleans based Private Equity fund, and the Advisory Board of Gas Field Services, a Rosedale VA based OFS  provider.  He holds a BS in Mining Engineering from Virginia Tech, where he is a Mining and Minerals Engineering Distinguished Alumnus and serves on the Mining Engineering Department’s Advisory Board.  In April of 2016 Mr. Albert was inducted into the Academy of Engineering Excellence at Virginia Tech, the highest honor bestowed upon the College of Engineering graduates, an honor bestowed upon only 141 of its 65000 graduates. Mr. Albert is a Registered Professional Engineer in WV and VA.

Robert S. Radabaugh, Member

Robert Radabaugh (Bob) is presently the President and Partner of S & R Gas Ventures, Ltd in Sand Fork, West Virginia.  Prior to forming S & R Gas Ventures, Bob worked for Trio Petroleum Corp where his primary focus was on Reclamation and Timbering.    In addition to his current position at S & R, Bob also owns Radabaugh Oil & Gas Holdings and Radabaugh Environmental Services. He graduated from Glenville State College with an Associate’s Degree in Forest Technology.
He serves as a Member on the WV Oil and Gas Conservation Commission and has been an active member of the Independent Oil and Gas Association of WV since 1981. Throughout his career he has been awarded many Environmental & Service Awards.


Michael McCown P.E., Member

Mike McCown is a long-time resident of West Virginia currently residing in Mineral Wells. He retired in 2016 after a 40-year career in the oil and gas industry working for various companies as an executive, manager and engineer. Currently he provides consulting and expert witness services for the petroleum industry. Mike has served on the Boards of the State’s two oil and gas associations for 17 years, serving as President of the WV Oil & Gas Association, President of the Independent Oil & Gas Association, and was acknowledged as WV Oil & Gas Man of the Year in 2014.
He graduated from Ohio University with a BS in Civil Engineering, is a retired professional petroleum engineer in WV and a professional engineer in Ohio.

James A. Martinames A. Martin, Ex-Officio Chief of the Office of Oil and Gas

Austin Caperton, Ex-Officio (Cabinet Secretary, WV Department of Environmental Protection)